Bronfman Plays Beethoven Presented by New World Symphony


Bronfman Plays Beethoven Presented by New World Symphony

Can music change your life? World-renowned pianist Yefim Bronfman returns to the Adrienne Arsht Center with the NWS Fellows and Robert Spano, celebrated Music Director of the Atlanta Symphony. Mr. Bronfman calls Ludwig van Beethoven’s piano concertos “the foundation of [pianists’] existence. Our lives really have been changed by the music.”

Reflect on Bronfman’s words as Beethoven sheds the cheery brightness of his first two piano concertos to embrace the moody minor-key emotionalism in his third. Oppressed under Stalin’s regime, Dmitri Shostakovich was under intense scrutiny and political pressure when writing his Fifth Symphony. Bathed in controversy, the powerful, warhorse symphony fuses tragedy, mourning and a superficial optimism, giving voice to a forbidden language.

Robert Spano, conductor
Yefim Bronfman, piano


Beethoven : Piano Concerto No. 3
Shostakovich : Symphony No. 5